Conductor’s Comments:

Surf! was designed to give our audiences a thrill ride. It completely met our expectations, and it helped our mission to portray our orchestra as a hip and exciting ensemble.

The soloists, Lindsay Deutsch and Todd Rewoldt, played with incredible fire and virtuosity, and the customized video took the viewer into the ocean and over the waves.

The music was extremely imaginitve, unique and full of energy. It also has the optional flexibility to add customized surf video or computer generated sounds for added effect, depending on one’s budget and resources. However, it stands beautifully alone as a straight ahead double concerto.

On a technical level, the piece came together amazingly quickly and our players (and me too!) absolutely loved digging into the music. For being an orchestra based in a city where the ocean plays such a central role in all our lives, and where surfing is the quintessential California dream activity, this piece was such a meaningful and buzz-worthy experience for us.”

Jung-Ho Pak, Artistic Director — Orchestra Nova

Pages 20-23:
Wild Wave Ride.

Pages 35 to 38:
The Love Theme.

Pages 86 — 90
The Grand Finale.

Surf is scored for moderate-sized orchestra to accommodate contemporary budget realities facing today’s chamber orchestras and large orchestras.
A version with extended low brass is available for larger budgets and ensembles.

 2 fl. (picc.)

2 ob.
2 cl. in A
2 bn.
2 hn. in F
2 trp. in Bb
2 trb.
3 perc:
• 4 timp. (32″, 29″, 26″, 23″ plus optional additional 26″ or 29″)
• Large Gong or Tam Tam, vibes, Bass Drum, triangle
• 5 tom-toms (various sizes), vibes, suspended crash cymbal
laptop (electronics) (optional)
harp (optional)
vln. solo
alto sax in Eb solo
vln. I
vln. II


Joseph Martin Waters

An American classical composer known for writing chamber and orchestral music, Water’s style of composition is based in both the European classical as well as African (beat-based) musical traditions. He is dedicated to integrating elements of rock, jazz and world music into his classical pieces. His works follow in the line of American composers George Gershwin and Leonard Bernstein.

 His music is described as multi-layered — easy to grab ahold of when first heard, and woven with hidden musical passageways that are revealed upon multiple listenings.

Surf was premiered by San-Diego based Orchestra Nova in 2012 on May 11, 12 & 14, under the baton of Maestro Jung-Ho Pak. A double concerto for violin and alto saxophone, the premiere featured Lindsay Deutsch (violin) and Todd Rewoldt (saxophone). The work was an immediate success with audiences and critics.
Ms. Deutsch and Mr. Rewoldt are available and dedicated to promoting the work through further performance opportunities.

 Conductors, Artistic Directors & Artistic Planning Coordinators: 
Please check out the score excerpts, and feel free to be in touch if you would like to preview the entire score for performance possibilities.

Please visit for more compositions.

6 + 12 =